Fabulously Out There

Putting the Fabulous in East Boston since 2005 -I have written about my life, my dog(s), my sex life, my my love life, my dating, my non-dating, my job searches and my soul searches since 2005. This is my space and my opinions. I use my space freely and voice my opinions freely. I call my readers possums, cause it's a cute word, not because they aren't fabulous and stunningly handsome and beautiful. :)

Intuition is a spiritual faculty and does not explain, but simply points the way. ~Florence Scovel Shinn September 29, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — englandia @ 10:08 am

Dear Intuition,

Thank you for being around. I want to tell you that I am deeply sorry for having ignored you so many years and I am really happy that we have gotten reaquainted in the past 4 years.

The most decisive actions of our life… are most often unconsidered actions.  ~André Gide

I screwed up many times not listen to you. That little voice in my stomach, that feeling, that knot. I sometimes thought it was my little devil of insecurity speaking, when it was truly just my intuition.

Instinct is the nose of the mind. ~Madame De Girardin

The same intuition that protected you as a child. That made you turn around in a dark forest, that made you just react and not think and reason about things. That same intuition is becoming stronger and stronger and I really love that I am back listening to you.

Instinct is intelligence incapable of self-consciousness.  ~John Sterling

Let’s face it: Not listening to you? FAIL. Many times over, many examples. The morning I got married, there you were. Gently prodding me and saying “are you sure?” and I pushed you aside in the name of love.

Instinct is untaught ability.  ~Bain

When I took that PR job here in Boston that I ended up hating and got laid off from, you were there too, reminding me that this might not be 100% right. And I ignored you again, too focused on finally having a job in my field.

Good instincts usually tell you what to do long before your head has figured it out.  ~Michael Burke

The dating of the world traveler man. Jesus, intuition. You weren’t even gentle. You were knocking me up and down the head, probably slapping my face a few times, yet I chose to listen not to you. I thought “Oh, you’ve gotten to cynical, Fabulous. This man says the right things and does the right things and appears crazy about you.” I chose to listen to my friends, because I wanted to believe them and I wanted to believe and all along, you were there and all along I acknowledged you, yet I didn’t act right.

Intuition, I am going to do my best from now on to listen to you whenever I can. I have come to get reaquainted with you. I know again what you feel like and I am going to try my best to use you and trust you.

Love,

Me

 

4 Responses to “Intuition is a spiritual faculty and does not explain, but simply points the way. ~Florence Scovel Shinn”

  1. Maribeth Says:

    Shit. I hate it when that happens!

  2. charlotte Says:

    Argh–I vowed the same thing just a few weeks ago. And yes, I have ignored that little voice in my stomach, too, in the name of reason, love, practicality, you name it.

    That day I got married to my first husband? I wanted to literally RUN, so he asked to have the door of the courthouse wedding room banged shut. Yeah, that’s me, the ignorer of intuition.

    You know why that is? Because intuition, because it’s not “provable” scientifically, is denigrated by the social/ economic powers-that-be as a typically “female” thing, and therefore about as close to “hysteria” as it gets for them. In the working world especially, women have to internalize the male viewpoint and value system in order to get ahead at all (more or less, depending on the industry), which means that we encourage ourselves not to listen.

    Fancy that.

  3. Amanda Says:

    Huh. Makes one (and by “one” I mean ME) stop and ponder how often I listen to MY intuition. Probably not nearly often enough. I might just want to work on that.

  4. Not So Little Woman Says:

    You’re so right. Our inner voice is one of the smartest things in this world.

    And sorry I encouraged the dating of the man who traveled a lot. I too, wanted to believe, you know? Not anymore. Follow the gut.


Leave a Reply

