Fabulously Out There

Putting the Fabulous in East Boston since 2005 -I have written about my life, my dog(s), my sex life, my my love life, my dating, my non-dating, my job searches and my soul searches since 2005. This is my space and my opinions. I use my space freely and voice my opinions freely. I call my readers possums, cause it's a cute word, not because they aren't fabulous and stunningly handsome and beautiful. :)

November 9, 1989 November 9, 2009

Filed under: Germany — englandia @ 12:16 pm

I remember that day extremely well.

It was the day that ended the German Democratic Republic….the fall of the wall.
It was also the end to an extremely peaceful revolution in a country that, by every sense of the definition, was as far from democratic as one can imagine.

For weeks, if not months, we had been witnessing trains full of refugees from East Germany arrive in Southern Germany. They took every opportunity they had to leave. It started through Hungary, with the Hungarian government not really stopping anyone who wanted to leave and then it extended to Czechoslovakia. Who doesn’t remember the German embassy in Prague overrun with hundreds of refugees. Women, children, infants, men. People climbing over the fence in the dark of the night.
Our foreign minister, Genscher, appearing on the balcony telling all that they would be brought to West Germany.

And then November 9 came.

I was home in the afternoon. My parents at work. Since we lived only steps from the border, truly, I was able to get East German television (we were in West Germany) . There was a news conference and Italian journalist asked if people could leave the country. There had been an lot of jibberish talking going on.
And it was said “everyone with a passport can leave the country”.
I called my father.
A man who had spent 13 years as a political prisoner in East Germany. Who hadn’t seen his home in over 30 years.
“That can’t be right,” he said.
I looked at the television, at the footage of people walking toward the border, be it the wall or their local border.
“No, they aren’t kidding dad.”

My father only closed his office twice. He didn’t even close it when I was born, he just dropped my mom off at the hospital.
The rest of the day was spent watching TV and then later going out side and greeting the rows and rows and rows of Trabbis arriving in our village.

When I read my father’s STASI file 3 years ago, my favorite sentence was the following: “Even after 10 years of re-education measurements, Prisoner XXXX is still a supreme enemy of our free and democratic nation.”

My father spent many years in solitary confinement. My father got almost all of his teeth pulled in torture. My father NEVER lost his inner freedom.

My father never broke. November 9, 1989 was a very special day for him.
I miss home today.

Here are my parents with their favorite child and a piece of the wall, removed by my sister, who lived in Berlin, the night of November 9, 1989.

photo(3)

Dad, mom and their favorite adopted child

 

15 Responses to “November 9, 1989”

  1. charlotte Says:

    Oh wow. Your dad’s story … amazing! How did he make it into West Germany, then?

    I lived too far west to see the first influx of the Trabbis, but I remember celebrating in the streets of Wiesbaden with thousands of other people …

  2. Fabulous Says:

    Political prisoners were usually not allowed to stay in the East. Part of amnesty was a kick over a bridge from East to West Berlin.. Like in a spy movie. No joke.

  3. stefanie Says:

    I was in a Trabi and my parents and I were on our way to Eschwege, Hessen. I was only 5 years old then but I remember it very well.

  4. AmyB Says:

    *sniff* Great post, U. I hope you are able to talk to your dad on this day! ((hugs))

  5. Innismir Says:

    Agreed: Great post. I just remember my father hearing it on WBZ and being in shock. I was a wee lad of 9 at the time and had no idea of the significance.

    Your father is a supreme and total bad*ss by the way. I salute him.

  6. Lori Cav Says:

    Wow that is an amazing story

  7. Melissa Riley Says:

    I remember that day, I was a stay at home mom back then and sat in front of the TV crying at the enormity of it all. How amazing that you witnessed this…and how incredible for your father!

  8. Not So Little Woman Says:

    I remember it too. In school they gave us part of the morning off and we were told we could paint on the playground with chalk what this day meant for us. I was 13 and so far away from it all that I didn’t quite get the importance of it. But I remember the sense of joy all over the school.

  9. Emblita Says:

    Your dads story is nothing short of amazing, and the fall of the wall was felt all over.
    I was at the summerhouse with my parents watching the events on tv (in black and white and terrible reception), I was only 11 then but I still understood that something incredible was happening.

  10. tobeannounced Says:

    Wow! I had no idea… what a story!

  11. Deirdre Says:

    Thanks for the reminder of what it was like. I was surprised to read of bunch of DDR nostalgia in the LA Times yesterday by people who say how much was lost of the DDR’s egalitarian culture. Not so much, I think…

  12. Steffi Says:

    Wow, thanks for sharing the story about your Dad. He is an amazing men!
    I didn’t know you lived so close to the border.

  13. kim Says:

    wow. that is an absolutely amazing story. your dad is a great man. i don’t remember much detail about the time 20 years ago – i was only 12 – but i remember knowing this was big. honestly though, i didn’t “get” how huge it really was until later. what a great anniversary for germany and … you’ll be home soon, right? xoxo

  14. bigappletobigbear Says:

    I am glad for the freedom that reached East Germany and for the fall of the Iron Curtain, but yesterday it was really hard for me to get past Kristallnacht.


Leave a Reply

