Fabulously Out There

Putting the Fabulous in East Boston since 2005 -I have written about my life, my dog(s), my sex life, my my love life, my dating, my non-dating, my job searches and my soul searches since 2005. This is my space and my opinions. I use my space freely and voice my opinions freely. I call my readers possums, cause it's a cute word, not because they aren't fabulous and stunningly handsome and beautiful. :)

India: First impressions November 30, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — englandia @ 4:45 pm

People. Lots and lots of people. Incredibly friendly, nice and curious people.
Incredibly smart people. Very, very poor people.

That’s the first thing that probably struck me about India. A country that on some levels still lives in the past and on other levels is very modern. Where the people who “have” do very well for themselves, and the people who “don’t have” somehow manage…how, I wondered often. I never really made it into a slum, but I drove by a few as they seem to be around transportation hubs and train stations.

It makes me want to learn more about Hinduism and the wonders on how society accepts these large masses of poverty that surrounds almost every city.

The friendliness and kindness of all people struck me the most. My hosts where naturally absolutely outrageously kind and good to me. I took about 1000 photos of what struck me the most and the beauty of this country.

There were many times where I just wanted to stop time and “be”. I managed to “be” a lot. I think I am have come back more thoughtful and more content and I hope that will stay with me for a long time.

I wrote into my journal almost every day and many times the main question was “If you could have this right now, would you want it.”

Think about that question. Think about all the things you want in life or some of them anyway and then dig one step deeper and ask yourself, if you actually would take these things if you could have them. Whatever they may be. Material or spiritual. And then you realize, holy hell, maybe I don’t.
And then you ask yourself “why”….why don’t you.

So yes, I spent many days writing about things I have in me. I think that was the essence of the clearer moments. The answers are all in my anyway.

But I digress. Back to India.

India food? AWESOME. 3x per day…..a challenge for me. Especially the breakfast. Of course my hosts were so concerned about me that I didn
t want to offend them and ate what was given. ;)

The wedding? Amazing. I Think I will just let the photos speak for themselves.

Men from Kashmir? What the hell. Why wasn’t I told of their gorgeousness before? No no, I was good.

Wearing sarees? Equally amazing. Want to wear in Boston too.

A few photos….there isn’t much time today. Again, if you aren’t on Facebook with me yet, send me an email to fabulouslyoutthere@yahoo.com and I will add you. That’s where I will put most photos :)

Sitting at Mumbai Aiport after a 16 hour trip...waiting to get on my next plane...start of the journey


Traffic.....


I missed my blogging friends. :) How have you all been, possums. It’s always nice to have you in my corner. :)

 

6 Responses to “India: First impressions”

  1. Maribeth Says:

    Wow! I can’t wait to see and hear more!!!

  2. Karen in CT Says:

    Welcome Back! I’m so happy you had a wonderful trip and have come back feeling rested and peaceful :o) Cannot wait to hear more about your adventures!

  3. Steffi Says:

    Ah, that sound so great!!!
    But I fear I would have died with the Indian food. :-)
    Looking at your pictures now,…

  4. Not So Little Woman Says:

    Wanna hear more too! I’m so happy you took this trip. Beach, solitude and lots of things to think about are good. I’m glad to have you back, though… :-)

  5. Nicole Says:

    SO GLAD you are home safe and had a wonderful trip!! Can’t wait to see & read more!!

  6. susanne Says:

    PLEASE, could you mail me your password? I have been reading your blog for a long time and find it fascinating.
    I am so interested in hearing all about India.
    Viele Gruesse aus Texas,
    Susanne


Leave a Reply

