Fabulously Out There

Putting the Fabulous in East Boston since 2005 -I have written about my life, my dog(s), my sex life, my my love life, my dating, my non-dating, my job searches and my soul searches since 2005. This is my space and my opinions. I use my space freely and voice my opinions freely. I call my readers possums, cause it's a cute word, not because they aren't fabulous and stunningly handsome and beautiful. :)

This is what you need to know about insurances… January 20, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — englandia @ 12:00 pm

….when you have breakfast at 7 am on a cold November day.

…and suddenly water starts pouring out of your ceiling.

…and it’s established within 6 minutes that that water is coming from your upstairs neighbors bathroom.

…and both of you immediately call your homeowner’s insurance. Mine, USAA, immediately sends someone over, starts fixing shit and pays for it and I pay my deductible.

…neighbors insurance, Liberty Mutual,  tells her they will reimburse my insurance and with that my deductible.

…And then imagine her insurance refuses to pay because “Neighbor wasn’t negligable”.

Of course she wasn’t. So basically, if my neighbor had known something was wrong with her toilet and ignored to fix it and then this would have happened, they would have paid. But because it was a freak situation? Uhm. I don’t get it, Liberty Mutual.

Obviously this has nothing to do with my pretty fantastic neighbor. She’s not happy about this, but she can’t make them pay either.

But I don’t get it. I really don’t. I was on the phone with Liberty Mutual yesterday and eventually asked, Claire, the Insurance lady “Now, forget for a second you are an insurance professional. Now, let’s assume you are sitting in your living room having breakfast and suddenly water starts running out of your ceiling. Water that isn’t yours and has nothing to do with you. You are telling me it’s ok that I pay for that damage although I wasn’t even remotely involved?”

Silence from Claire.

I am pissed, possums, but at the end of the day, it’s just money. Deductible is paid. I am grateful that my fantastic insurance paid the remainding $3000 and that’s what I should be grateful for. Liberty Mutual said they might reopen this claim to re-examine, but I am not holding my breath.

Lesson learned.  oh wait. What’s the lesson? Thank god I have great insurance who paid for these damages and since Liberty Mutual has been unable to really explain this to me in a way that makes total sense and is fair, I will never buy a product of theirs.

 

8 Responses to “This is what you need to know about insurances…”

  1. Charlie Says:

    Your neighbor should file a complaint with the Insurance Commissioner’s office:

    http://www.mass.gov/?pageID=ocaagencylanding&L=4&L0=Home&L1=Government&L2=Our+Agencies+and+Divisions&L3=Division+of+Insurance&sid=Eoca

    They will advocate on her behalf with Liberty Mutual.

  2. Angela Says:

    There you are! I didn’t know you’d moved to wordpress. So OK, everything is as it should be in the universe.

    I can go about my day now, secure in that knowledge. ;)

  3. Nicole Says:

    Did you change the password for the protected posts. I can’t get the old password to work…

  4. Nicole Says:

    Okay, I thought maybe I just forgot how to work my computer!! Hope you are having a great day!!

  5. G Says:

    You are being damaged by this, I think. Not just the cost of the deductible, which your neighbor should reimburse you for- she is liable to you for it- but also the damage to your insurance rating if your insurance company pays this claim. I am going to assume that your insurance company will be suing hers, because that is what is usually done in these cases, If they don’t, you need to get from them a statement that this claim will not negatively impact your insurance rating. Sorry for the hassle, but I am glad that your company stepped up. I was once hit by a woman with Liberty Mutual and dealing with her company was absolutely the pits- but my company advocated for me.

  6. Lori Says:

    That is terrible they won’t pay! I live in fear of paying insurance my whole life to find when I need it some fringe clause bows them out from paying. So frustrating but as you said it is just money.


Leave a Reply

