Fabulously Out There

Putting the Fabulous in East Boston since 2005 -I have written about my life, my dog(s), my sex life, my my love life, my dating, my non-dating, my job searches and my soul searches since 2005. This is my space and my opinions. I use my space freely and voice my opinions freely. I call my readers possums, cause it's a cute word, not because they aren't fabulous and stunningly handsome and beautiful. :)

Art in Eastie’s Shipyard? HELL YES May 17, 2010

In the past 2-3 months I have noticed art popping up in the most unusual place on my walk with the two little monsters.

The East Boston Shipyard. Yes, you heard right. A place filled with one tiny fantastic restaurant and otherwise a bunch of burly, tough welders and sailors and what not.  My even greater surprise was when I asked one of them about it and he was completely enthusiastic about the project. Talk about stereotyping. Me = Fail. I thought he’d be all “This art shit is stupid” and instead of that he said that he was looking forward to what was coming next.

Therefore, I present to you, my current most favorite projects in the Eastie Shipyard. If you haven’t been in this area of the city, you should get your fantastic possums asses down here for brunch or dinner at Scup’s, followed by a walk to the Airport Hyatt along the waterfront and then checking out shipyard art.

On the way to the Hyatt:

And here goes to art!! COOL art!!! My absolute FAVORITE, the mermaid:


And Scup’s, Note the green sculpture.

This one is new:

OCTOPUS hanging from building. LOVE!
This is brand-new too:

My other favorite: The FISH!


And then algae….that’s at least my guess:


I love finding new things on this walk. Since I take it almost daily, it’s really cool to look for new suprises.

All photos taken with iphone, so excuse the quality…well, frankly, I think the quality pretty much rocks. Now I just wish I could make a phone call without dropped calls and the iphone becomes a PHONE for me :)

 

12 Responses to “Art in Eastie’s Shipyard? HELL YES”

  1. Maribeth Says:

    That is cool. What does Fabulous dog and Lani think?

  2. SAVE THE DATE!

    HarborArts Outdoor Gallery at Boston Harbor Shipyard

    OPENING CELEBRATION – Meet the Artists

    Saturday, June 12, 2-5pm

    HarborArts OPEN HOUSE

    in conjunction with Common Boston in East Boston

    Saturday, June 19, 11am to 4pm

    Come and discover art at the industrial site of Boston Harbor Shipyard on Boston’s HarborWalk at 256 Marginal Street in East Boston, MA

    The public is invited to attend the Opening Celebration of the new International HarborArts Outdoor Gallery at Boston Harbor Shipyard. Meet the artists who installed over 25 large-scale 2D and 3D artworks throughout the shipyard. The exhibition is open year-round.

    HarborArts employs the arts to raise awareness for issues effecting our waterways. This public exhibition celebrates the environmental work of the Massachusetts Ocean Coalition.

    Juried by Randi Hopkins, Associate Curator, Institute of Contemporary Art/Boston. Exhibiting artists: B. Amore, Ralph Berger, David Chatowsky, Louisa Conrad, Robert Craig, Konstantin Dimopoulos, Marisa DiPaola, Gary Duehr, Margaret Evangeline, Mark Favermann, James Fuhrman, Donald Gerola, Gunnar Gundersen with Julia Jacoby and students from Høgskole i Akershus, Elizabeth Hack, Lisa Hein & Robert Seng, Paul Howe, Barbara Holub & Paul Rajakovics, Matt Evald Johnson, Annetta Kapon, Stacy Levy, Carolyn Lewenberg, Mark Millstein, Caitlin Nesbit, Lori Nozick, Trace O’Connor, Bayne Peterson, Kimberly Radochia, Derek Riley, Karl Saliter, Paul Lloyd Sargent, Maayke Schurer, Philip Simmons, Katja Bjorn & Hartmut Stockter.

    Directions: MBTA Blue Line to Maverick Station or City Water Taxi to Boston Harbor Shipyard (617) 422.0392 or visit http://www.citywatertaxi.com. For additional information please visit http://www.harborarts.net

  3. Alison Says:

    Yet another reason that we live in the most amazing neighborhood!

  4. Amy Says:

    that is so cool!

  5. not so little woman Says:

    Were the octopi there when I visited last October? I swear I have seen them!! All that is part of why I love cities like Boston and quirky neighborhoods that have their personality. Yay for Eastie!

  6. Steffi Says:

    Ah, now I am hungry!!! I went over to the website of Scup’s and after a look at the menu – I am hungry now.
    If I am ever going to Boston again – which I really hope – I think I have to go there.

  7. Karen Zgoda Says:

    I’m moving to the neighborhood in a week, what a wonderful surprise! Can’t wait to check it out!

  8. Beth Says:

    Hello,

    Just wanted to say a belated thank you for posting about this (saw it at UH). I got to check it out a few weeks ago and it was a lot of fun. Missed the mermaid sculpture, though. Also, wanted to say thanks for writing about Eastie. I’m pretty sure I read your blog 3 years ago when my boyfriend and I were trying to decide if we should move here, and we did and loved it. Now we’re moving again, and planning on staying in the neighborhood! So, thanks for pointing out how great this neighborhood is :-)

  9. […] Art in Eastie’s Shipyard? HELL YES May 2010 11 comments 5 […]


Leave a Reply

